GENUKI London and Middlesex have moved to

You will be redirected to the new site

GENUKI Home page UpLondon  ContentsContents

London Parishes & Boroughs

For further information about the the historical development of the administrative units of London, see Local Government Changes in the United Kingdom.

City of London Parishes

Since each parish within the City of London comprises at most a few streets, the parishes are known primarily by the name of the church, and not by the location. However, many of the dedications occur frequently in the City, in which case the full name of the parish contains some other identifying information, such as street name or location relative to some landmark.

If you are looking for a London parish known primarily by a place name, you can be sure it is not in the City of London, but in some other part of the metropolitan area. If it's north of the Thames, look in Middlesex. If it's south of the river, it is probably in Surrey, or else in Kent.

Details of each church, including location, date of building, and surviving registers, are on Gendocs' website.

A map of location of City of London churches is provided on Steve James' site Steeljam (now only available via the Internet Archive).

All Hallows Barking
All Hallows Bread St
All Hallows Honeylane
All Hallows Lombard St
All Hallows London Wall
All Hallows Staining
All Hallows the Great
All Hallows the Less
Barnards Inn
Furnivals Inn
Holy Trinity the Less
Lamb's Chapel
Precinct of Bridewell
Precinct of Whitefriars
Sergeants Inn
St Alban Wood St
St Alphage London Wall
St Andrew by the Wardrobe
St Andrew Holborn*
St Andrew Hubbard
St Andrew Undershaft
St Ann & St Agnes Aldersgate
St Ann Blackfriars
St Antholin Budge Row
St Augustine Watling St
St Bartholomew by the Exchange
St Bartholomew the Great
St Bartholomew the Less
St Benet Fink
St Benet Gracechurch
St Benet Paul's Wharf
St Benet Sherehog
St Botolph Billingsgate
St Botolph without Aldersgate
St Botolph without Aldgate*
St Botolph without Bishopsgate
St Bride Fleet Street
St Christopher le Stock
St Clement Eastcheap
St Dionis Backchurch
St Dunstan in the East
St Dunstan in the West
St Edmund The King and Martyr
St Ethelburga Bishopsgate
St Faith under St Paul' s
St Gabriel Fenchurch
St George Botolph Lane
St Giles without Cripplegate
St Gregory by St Paul's
St Helen Bishopsgate
St James Duke's Place
St James Garlickhithe
St John the Baptist Walbrook
St John the Evangalist Friday St
St John Zachary
St Katherine by the Tower
St Katherine Coleman
St Katherine Creechurch
St Lawrence Jewry
St Lawrence Pountney
St Leonard Eastcheap
St Leonard Foster Lane
St Magnus the Martyr
St Margaret Lothbury
St Margaret Moses
St Margaret New Fish St
St Margaret Pattens
St Martin Ludgate
St Martin Orgar
St Martin Outwich
St Martin Pomary
St Martin Vintry
St Mary Abchurch
St Mary Aldermansbury
St Mary Aldermary
St Mary at Hill
St Mary Bothaw
St Mary Colechurch
St Mary Le Bow
St Mary Magdalen Milk Street
St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street
St Mary Mountshaw
St Mary Somerset
St Mary Staining
St Mary Whitechapel*
St Mary Woolchurch Haw
St Mary Woolnoth
St Matthew Friday Street
St Michael Bassishaw
St Michael Cornhill
St Michael Crooked Lane
St Michael Le Querne
St Michael Paternoster Royal
St Michael Queenhithe
St Michael Wood St
St Mildred Bread St
St Mildred Poultry
St Nicholas Acon
St Nicholas Cole Abbey
St Nicholas Olave
St Olave Hart St
St Olave Old Jewry
St Olave Silver St
St Pancras
St Paul's Cathedral
St Peter Cornhill
St Peter Le Poor
St Peter Paul's Wharf
St Peter Westcheap
St Sepulchre Newgate*
St Stephen Coleman St
St Stephen Walbrook
St Swithin London Stone
St Thomas the Apostle
St Vedast Foster Lane
Thavie's Inn
The Temple

* these parishes were partly in Middlesex and partly in London.

The County of London

In 1889, the London County Council was created, consisting of the City of London and 28 Metropolitan Boroughs taking areas from Middlesex, Surrey and Kent.

Metropolitan Borough Original County
Battersea Surrey
Bermondsey Surrey
Bethnal Green Middlesex
Camberwell Surrey
Chelsea Middlesex
Deptford Kent
Finsbury Middlesex
Fulham Middlesex
Greenwich Kent
Hackney Middlesex
Hammersmith Middlesex
Hampstead Middlesex
Holborn Middlesex
Islington Middlesex
Kensington Middlesex
Lambeth Surrey
Lewisham Kent
Paddington Middlesex
Poplar Middlesex
St Marylebone Middlesex
St Pancras Middlesex
Shoreditch Middlesex
Southwark Surrey
Stepney Middlesex
Stoke Newington Middlesex
Wandsworth Surrey
Westminster Middlesex
Woolwich Kent

Greater London

In 1965, the administrative unit of Greater London was created, though the name itself had previously been used in an informal sense. This comprised the old County of London, with the Metropolitan Boroughs merged into a smaller number of Boroughs, the remaining parts of Middlesex, and parts of Essex, Herts, Surrey and Kent. Middlesex ceased to exist as an administrative county, though the name is still used in postal addresses.

The table lists the present-day boroughs of Greater London together with the counties which originally contained their current area, and the Metropolitan Broroughs they replaced. Note that many places in Greater London are still frequently referred to as being in counties, because the counties are still used in postal addresses.

Greater London Borough Metropolitan Boroughs Original County
Barking and Dagenham   Essex
Barnet   Middlesex & Hertfordshire
Bexley   Kent
Brent   Middlesex
Bromley   Kent
Camden Finsbury
St Pancras
City of London - -
Croydon   Surrey
Ealing   Middlesex
Enfield   Middlesex
Greenwich Deptford
Hackney Hackney
Stoke Newington
Hammersmith and Fulham Fulham
Haringey   Middlesex
Harrow   Middlesex
Havering   Essex
Hillingdon   Middlesex
Hounslow   Middlesex
Islington Finsbury
Kensington and Chelsea Chelsea
Kingston upon Thames   Surrey
Lambeth Lambeth Surrey
Lewisham Deptford
Surrey & Kent
Merton   Surrey
Newham   Essex
Redbridge   Essex
Richmond upon Thames   Surrey & Middlesex
Southwark Bermondsey
Sutton   Surrey
Tower Hamlets Bethnal Green
Waltham Forest   Middlesex & Essex
Wandsworth Battersea
Westminster Paddington
St Marylebone

A clickable map of the boroughs is provided by the London Councils, and Oultwood Services also have a clickable map and list of London Borough Web sites. National Statistics Geography webpages have a map of London (pdf format).
Our page London Boroughs - Archives and Local Studies Libraries has links to web sites of each London borough, and to their archives or local studies libraries. There are also links to borough web sites on the UK Government's Directgov list of local councils .

Return to top of page

Find help, report problems, or contribute information.

[Created by David Hawgood. Last updated 31 Dec 2013 by Andrew Millard.]

GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see About GENUKI as an organisation Valid HTML 4.0!